• Home
  • Mike Robbins Enthusiast of the Year Award

Mike Robbins Enthusiast of the Year Award

Mike Robbins Award

Originally called the Alton Dice Enthusiast of the Year Award, this annual award was renamed the Mike Robbins Award early in 2018 by the board of directors after the death in October, 2017 of Central Indiana Region’s founder and 1961 First President, Mike Robbins at the age of 89. This new award was first awarded in 2018 at our Annual Dinner in November. Mike was not only our first president, but was Region President again in 1961, 1970, 1971 and 1978. He and his wife additionally published the region newsletter “CIRcular” for two different long terms. He was also PCA National Secretary in 1963 – 1964, First PCA Zone 4 Rep, chaired the Porsche Parade Protest Committee and was a 60 year PCA member. Probably Mike’s most famous contribution to the history of PCA was that he attended 56 National Porsche Parades all over the US and drove the same black 1958 356A Speedster to 47 of them, accumulating over 550,000 miles! He even attended his last Porsche Parade, the 60 th Porsche Parade and first in Indiana, in 2015 at French Lick, Indiana, where he was  recognized by Wolfgang Porsche in an emotional ceremony at the Concours Banquet under the West Baden Springs Resort Hotel’s Atrium Dome. Mike received many national and regional awards over the years and was also active in the 356 Registry and Indianapolis Region of Sports Car Club of America. Mike truly embodied the full meaning of Enthusiast of the Year for all the many years of his participation in CIR and PCA.

Alton Dice was a member of Central Indiana Region, beginning in the mid-60’s, who lived in Peru, Indiana and attended almost every event with his wife. In 1970 Alton and his wife were on their way to a CIR event and stopped at the old Toddle House restaurant in Nora for breakfast where he suffered a fatal heart attack. Thereinafter, the CIR Enthusiast of the Year Award was named after him. There used to be a permanent trophy and each recipient’s name was engraved on a plaque on the trophy and a smaller plaque was given to the honoree, but eventually space ran out on the permanent trophy and it was retired and given to the 1984 winner, Mike Robbins. The award used to be participation-based and a series of points were awarded to members for doing different things for the club or participation at different events. It was eventually decided this was too complicated and the score-keeping became too cumbersome. The one rule that still remains from the beginning is that it cannot be awarded to a current board member, but must be given to a regular member of the region. It is not always awarded, if there is not an evidently qualified candidate. There have been several repeat award winners over the years. A list of past winners follows.

2022 Mark Westlake

2021 Pam Clarino

2020 Rebecka Pinto

2019 John Leonard

2018 Henry Riley

2017 Don Shuck

2016 David Weaver

2015 Steve Tarr

2014 Larry Haskett

2013 Debbie Groulik

2012 George Barker

2011 Tom Brentlinger

2010 Pam and Scott Ferguson

2009 Not Awarded

2008 Chris Langsenkamp

2007 George Barker

2006 Peter Simpson

2005 Kent Summers

2004 Jim Scarbrough

2003 Tom Brentlinger

2002 Mike Dworek

2001 Ron & Irene Sabelhaus

2000 Harold Crane

1999 Chuck Langsenkamp

1998 Randy Campbell

1997 Debbie Wolfe

1996 Hank Feeser

1995 Judy Robbins

1994 Steve Ooley

1993 Not Awarded

1992 Bob Snider

1991 Not Awarded

1990 Chuck Langsenkamp

1989 Bob Snider

1988 Not Awarded

1987 Bob Axsiom

1986 Bob Breeden

1985 Wayne Johanning

1984 Mike Robbins

1983 Chuck Langsenkamp

1982 Vic Maxwell

1981 Al Maxwell

1980 Joan Dodd

1979 Greg Lane

1978 Dave Kaiser

1977 Phil Allgood

1976 Agnes Howe

1975 Erwin Dollinger

1974 Phil Allgood

1973 Mike Robbins